One of my greatest fears

I have to admit, I have one too many fears. Right off the top of my head…I have such a ridiculous fear of snakes. Ophidiophobia it’s called…the abnormal fear of snakes. Just thinking about them scares the bejabers out of me. In primary school some kids (Nazis, if you ask me) put a rubber snake in my blankets. As I was about to get into bed, I spotted just a wee piece of the “snake” and RAN for my life. I not only ran out the dormitory, but out the school yard… in pyjamas. And yes, I cried. But I was only 10…not to say I wouldn’t react the same way today.🙂

You know what else I have a fear of? Whenever an insect flies into the room, I always have this (irrational?) fear that it will fly into my ears or nose, even if it’s too large to fit into either orifice. The fear of that happening totally throws me off whatever I was doing before it flew in.

I also have a fear of clowns. Maybe it all stemmed from watching Stephen King’s IT as a kid. Or maybe there really is something scary about a grown man in make up, especially one who’s been in the game too long and still gets fewer laughs than a nuclear disaster. Hey, here’s a clown joke for you: Two cannibals are eating a clown. One says to the other “tastes a bit funny”. 😂

Jada Pinkett Smith. I have had a crush on Mrs Smith since her Jason’s Lyric days. But I have such a fear of meeting her (not like that would ever happen). I fear if I ever met her and was left in a room alone with her, I wouldn’t even know what to say. I’d probably just end up playing dead…works in most awkward situations. Just ask my 5th grade science teacher.

Oh, and then there’s jail. I have a morbid fear of incarceration. Just the thought of time passing me by whilst in confinement, the assaults, the physical and mental abuse. It all scares me. But maybe I’m just scared ’cause I’m looking at it all wrong. Maybe I need to look at jail as a gathering of like minded people; a place where lifelong sentences…oops, I mean friendships…a place where lifelong friendships are formed.

I used to be afraid of my bank account a few years ago when I was drowning in debt. Those days were funny though. Swiping my card for a purchase was an extreme sport.

But, jokes aside, what’s my greatest fear? I think my greatest fear is death. I have always feared death in all its inevitability. A little over 18 months ago, I became a father and since then, there is nothing I fear more than the death of my child (children when I have more).

One of my best friends passed away some two years ago now. She was 28 but still, the pain in her mother’s eyes was the most heartbreaking and inconsolable pain I have ever witnessed. Losing a child is absolutely agonising. There really is no greater tragedy and my heart bleeds for anyone who has had to bury their child. I hope to God that I never have to face my greatest fear; that I never have to bury my child(ren). They say one must face their fears…this is one fear I never want to face, ever.

* Just scribbling my fears *

Written for @Writersbootcmp

Posted from WordPress for Android

One comment on “One of my greatest fears

  1. Akriti says:

    This is a very nice post. The sentiment beneath it has been very aptly put out there.
    Good job🙂

    i’d really appreciate if u could spare a few minutes and tell me what u feel about this –
    http://akritimattu.wordpress.com/2014/06/22/the-last-thing-a-3-year-old-syrian-said-before-he-died-im-gonna-tell-god-everything/

    It’s a very touching picture . I need more and more people to tell me what they feel about it .

    Like

What's your opinion? Leave a comment here

