Fat, bald, short, lazy, disabled…just say it like it is!

I have a gripe about something that happened a few days ago and seems to happen quite often. Allow me to vent a little.

I was at a symposium type thing the other day. A black tie event followed in the evening. Rather classy actually. Fancy French menu, some folks in masquerade costumes, free booze, the whole shebang…but I digress. My gripe started when we noticed there were some mistakes with the seating plan.

Me: “I think there’s a problem with this seating plan. The layout is wrong and some names are missing.”
Some lady: “Not to worry. Just look for Mr…” – let’s call him Mr Dinklage for the purposes of this post – “…Just look for Mr Dinklage” she said. “He should be out in the courtyard. Dark hair, glasses, very lively character. Can’t miss him.”

So I set about looking for Mr Dinklage. I asked four different people if they were this Mr Dinklage fella. They weren’t. But they all had dark hair, glasses, and appeared rather lively (there was free booze after all). Eventually someone pointed out Mr Dinklage to me. Imagine my surprise when I saw a markedly tiny chap. I mean, yes, he had dark hair, glasses, and he indeed was very lively…but he was also A DWARF…in an ORANGE SUIT!!! I’m stood there thinking “damn woman, would it have killed you to mention I should look for a tiny person dressed like a can of Fanta?” I’m out here looking for a “normal sized” person (which, in my opinion, was a reasonable assumption to make) when the person I’m after is the only dwarf in the entire place.

Wouldn’t it have been easier if the conversation had rather gone something like this:

Me: “I think there’s a problem with this seating plan. The layout is wrong and some names are missing.”
Some lady: “Not to worry. Just look for Mr Dinklage. He should be out in the courtyard. Just look for the dwarf in an orange suit. Oompa-loompa looking guy. Can’t miss him.”

Okay, maybe “oompa loompa” is a tad on the wrong side of political correctness but you get the point right?

I was one of the few black people at that event. If someone was looking for me wouldn’t it be easier to say “he’s the black guy in the loud purple shirt?” It would be considerably easier to find me than if you were looking for “the guy with short hair, brown eyes, and a killer smile”🙂

When did simple descriptive words become offensive?

If you came to my apartment block looking for the caretaker, I’d tell you her office is on the ground floor. “Look for the fat white woman dressed like a hobo”…okay, maybe the hobo part is a little offensive (though accurate)…but last I checked “fat” and “white” were not. What use would it be to you if I told you to look for “a woman with short hair and an abundance of inner beauty?”

So please, just say it like it is. We tired of deciphering your politically correct and extremely vague descriptions.

*** just scribbling my dark hair thoughts ***

Posted from WordPress for BlackBerry.

One comment on “Fat, bald, short, lazy, disabled…just say it like it is!

  1. Maczwel says:

    lol oompah loompa – No filter, none whatsoever!

    But you do make a point (not that its well thought). We do live in a society that is tip-toeing on the verge of emotional outbreak. People are not ready to hear the blunt truth about how others perceive them, especially if it makes them appear inferior or less appealing. So we are prone to nurse their self-conscious wounds with sugar coated political correctness and all sorts of niceties. That’s if you care about being remembered as the ‘nice guy’.

    Like

What's your opinion? Leave a comment here

