No one credits the black race with any success, only failure

So, for those of you who haven’t heard this story, it goes something like so: On Wednesday night, Chelsea and Juventus football clubs kicked off their campaigns in Europe’s elite club competition, The Champions League.

With about 10 minutes left to play, Chelsea were leading Juve 2-1. It was at this point that Chelsea’s Nigerian star John Obi Mikel gave away the ball with a somewhat careless pass. This mistake led to Juventus’ Claudio Marchisio playing the ball to Fabio Quagliarella who scored the equaliser for Juventus.

In almost every single football game you watch, mistakes are made. That’s just the nature of the game. Sometimes you get away with it, sometimes you’re punished for it. On this occasion, Chelsea were punished. In fact, soon after the game Mikel said in an interview:“I’m sorry about the mistake, but there are no excuses”. He continued: “If I want to make up an excuse, I can but, for me, I gave the ball away. I put my hands up, we move on”.

It appears moving on was the last thing on the minds of some Chelsea fans. Instead they targeted the 25 year old’s Twitter account (@Mikel12Official), posting racist and offensive messages. Needless to say, Mikel closed down the site within 24 hours.

I’ve always said it, it’s hard being black out there. If you play well (which Mikel does a lot of the times) it’s not because you’re black. No one credits the black race for all the black sports-sensations out there. But if you mess up they say it’s because you are black. No one credits the black race with any success, only failure.

To John Obi I say, “stay strong sir, you’ll bounce back”. Keep keeping on. I’m not a Chelsea fan, but I’m your fan.

What's your opinion? Leave a comment here

